Heartened

The whole kit & doodle!

“Word Clouds”

I don't know how many of you have checked out the very cool blogs I've linked to on the left, but I try and read them every day. I'm still catching up on some of the archived posts in them, but as I do so, I am just more and more inspired all the time. These are some VERY neat people!

Today, I was reading on "Crunchy Granola." If you haven't checked Susan's blog out yet, make sure you do. She and her partner Politica are raising a cool little girl she calls "Curious Girl." I love that! Anyway, Susan blogged about her "Word Cloud" a few days ago. I thought this was so very cool, I decided to make one for myself. These are actually intended for t-shirts you buy, which I'm not interested in doing right now. But when you visit their site, it "crawls" your blog and creates a Word Cloud for you based on words found in posts on your blog. So I had it do mine. I wasn't completely happy with the list it auto-generated, so I made a few changes, and then I kept a copy. Then I decided I was bored, and that I didn't want my "Word Cloud" to be two-color. So, I made my own! I just really liked the concept. I think I'll end up printing mine out and making a framed print of it. Maybe I'll do more of these over time and create a "wall of words" detailing different times in my life.

I really like words – words as art, even better.

So thanks Susan, for letting us know about "Word Clouds!" (And let me know if you want a full-color one for yourself – least I can do!)

February 2, 2006 - Posted by | Just For Fun

2 Comments »

  1. P.S.:

    If anyone else wants one, drop me an email. I’ll need a list of 100 words you want me to use. Other than word changes, it will be identical to the one I’ve posted – it takes a long time to change colors, fonts, positions, etc. and I’m lazy. LOL But since I think these are pretty cool, I wanted to offer.

    Comment by Heartened | February 2, 2006 | Reply

  2. What a kind offer! Can you work with the word cloud that’s up in that entry on my blog? Or do I need to get you a new list of words?

    I really appreciate the kind words about my writing, too. I like the connections blogging helps foster; thanks for reading what I’ve been writing and for putting your thoughts up here.

    And of course, thanks for liking my kid!

    Comment by susan | February 3, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

