Heartened

The whole kit & doodle!

Looking for the SoA Forums?

Edited to add: If you are still unable to reach the forums, there are a few steps you should take.

1.  Make sure you are adding the www in between http:// and soulofadoption – When a change like this is made, it sometimes takes a while for it to catch up.  Making sure the www is present can help your computer and ISP and the site all "synch" together. 

2. Reboot your computer. Do a complete shut down. Wait 5 seconds. Turn it back on. This helps clear your computer and reset your connection to your ISP.

3. Try going to the website, holding down your shift key and clicking refresh/reload.

4. Be patient, it may actually still take YOUR ISP (internet service provider – like AOL, SBC, YahooDSL, etc.) up to 12 hours to refresh their DNS. If you still cannot access the site by tomorrow morning after AGAIN repeating steps one, two and three, call your ISP and ask the tech "How often do you refresh your DNS?" Ask them to do a refresh while on the phone with you. When they've done it, reboot your computer (again) and try getting to the forum.

5. If none of that works and you're still going insane, leave me a message here on my blog and I'll try and help you troubleshoot it.

They'll be back in a few hours – promise! Our host (jbservers.net) was transferring us to a new server – the fastest, best one they have. It was supposed to be done during the middle of the night, when traffic is lowest, but it seems someone made a boo-boo and scheduled the transfer for the wrong time of day.

I'm sorry I didn't post about this earlier – I'm a night owl, I was sleeping. LOL

But "this" is the 9 hour outage I posted the announcement about last night. It just happened at the wrong time of day, unfortunately.

We won't have to go through this again, promise. And honestly, jbservers was giving us a very nice "gift" by moving us to another server.

Here's a trick that's good to know – if ever you're getting a weird message when you try to go to the forums (I know most of you have bookmarked the forums rather than the site) – just visit http://www.soulofadoption.com

That's going to give you the most accurate "error message," letting you know if something big is being fixed.

Also, bookmark my blog. I'll try to post information here if anything like this ever happens again.

Don't forget, you can always email me through my blog – heartened1 at gmail d0t c0m

April 10, 2006 Posted by | General | 8 Comments