Heartened

The whole kit & doodle!

Legacy of an adopted child – Part III

I haven’t written on this blog in a very long time.  Adoption burn out, in a major way – I had to walk or lose my sanity, and that sort of sums things up.

I was cleaning out my inbox today and noticed a lot of comments had been generated lately.  Turns out most of them were spam.  But one, in particular, was not – and is probably the most important comment ever left on my blog.  It is the comment left on this post – Legacy of an adopted child – in March of this year.  I’m angry at myself that I did not pay close enough attention to have seen Penny’s comment when she made it.  She has possibly thought to herself, “just great, another person who won’t believe me.”

Well Penny, actually, I do believe you.  I was always a bit uncomfortable with the claim someone named Lisa had written the poem – because while my short-term memory sucks, I was always sure the author’s name had been something like Peggy or Patty.  And “Penny” is like “Peggy” or “Patty.”  Lisa is not.

I’ve written an email to Penny this morning, one I hope she receives.  I’ve offered to help her prove that poem is hers, and damn if I’m not going to do that.  The author of that poem deserves to be acknowledged, she deserves the thanks of millions of adoptees who have identified with her poem.  And to be blunt, she deserves financial remuneration for all the times her words have been used for-profit.

Ladies and gents, you can help with this endeavor.  I’m asking anyone who has access to “TEEN” magazine from the late 1970’s through 1989 to please pour through the “Poetry Corner” pages of the magazine and look for this poem.  It IS in there – I carried the cut-out from the magazine around with me for years.  Maybe there are some “TEEN” magazines in your basement, maybe you work in a library that has them in the archives, or maybe you worked for the publisher and know where archived copies of those magazines remain.

Maybe you lived and worked in the Indianapolis area back then and remember a young teenage girl wining a poetry contest with this poem.  Maybe you remember seeing something about it in the local paper.

Whatever the case, speak up – do some digging – let’s FINALLY put this mystery to rest once and for all.

And let’s make sure the real author of this poem finally gets the recognition due.  This is just too important to let go.

August 7, 2008 - Posted by | Adoption Rants, General, Just For Fun

9 Comments »

  1. […] – AUTHOR IDENTIFIED UPDATE:  The authorship of this poem is AGAIN IN QUESTION.  Please read this very important post about this subject – let’s finally lay this mystery to […]

    Pingback by Legacy of an adopted child - AUTHOR IDENTIFIED « Heartened | August 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am sure you know this already but this poem has been adapted into a childrens book about adoption. The drawings in it are of an asian child with a caucasian adoptive mom and an asian biological mother. I remember coming across it in the family or parenting section of a bookstore in VT. Hope this helps. In my opinion it is the perfect story to tell our chld

    Comment by tnl | August 27, 2008 | Reply

    • What is the name of the book, the same as the poem? I want a copy. And I want to send it to my nephew who was adopted then onto his children that were adopted. This is a legacy because I was adopted along withn my twin brother John. Please, please, please let me know. I WILL search the internet for this bok. Thank you again. Adoption has been the GREATEST blessing in my life. Janet L. Mancini (I.m posting this on my Facebook page.)

      Comment by Janet Mancini | November 26, 2010 | Reply

      • Janet-
        The name of the book is :Adoption is Forever”. Why does everyone think that the poem was written by someone who gave up their child for adoption. Wrong, it was written by a young woman, who for years was trying to adopt a child. She tried to visualize the mental pain that the birthmother was going through, but at the same time she was thanking her. The birth mom unselfeshly gave her child up for adoption to a couple, who had so much love to give. This was their way of thanking her for giving them the gift of life.

        Comment by Hope Parnes | June 20, 2011

  3. I’m confused. Why is the first comment here one that takes readers to a claim that the author is Lisa? I finally deciphered that the Lisa post was in 2006, and the Penny post was in 2008… So it would seem that the Penny post is correct.

    But it’s pretty confusing. Also, if I’m required to leave my email, didn’t Penny? And wouldn’t it be possible to contact her there, to see what evidence *she* has? Perhaps she has the original award.

    If her email isn’t available, perhaps she will check back to this site.

    For myself, It’s much more believable as written here, with the changes in words, than in the version that’s going around the ‘net. This:

    “One gave you up, it was all that she could do
    The other prayed for a child and was led straight to you.”

    is far more believable and congruent with the rest of the poem. In my opinion.

    Comment by Friendly Person | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. I know i had a little boy February 5. 1984. I was just 13. I too like so many before me gave my son up for adoption. It was the hardest thing ever. I remember writting the poem in 1986. How i know is im looking at it now. It means so much to me it felt like it was wrote for me. Iv kepted it all these years, in hopes that someday i can show my little boy just how much i love him and never forgot about him. I think of him everyday. My life feels incomplete without him..thanks for letting me share.

    Comment by Diana | October 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Diana, in what state did you give your son up for adoption?

      Comment by Sari | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. ■Janet-
    The name of the book is :Adoption is Forever”. Why does everyone think that the poem was written by someone who gave up their child for adoption. Wrong, it was written by a young woman, who for years was trying to adopt a child. She tried to visualize the mental pain that the birthmother was going through, but at the same time she was thanking her. The birth mom unselfeshly gave her child up for adoption to a couple, who had so much love to give. This was their way of thanking her for giving them the gift of life.

    Comment by Hope Parnes | June 20, 2011

    Comment by Hope Barsky-Mosteller | June 20, 2011 | Reply

  6. “[Why do so many FP users insist their Moleskines work well? They have horrible paper!] ” Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    Comment by craigryan8378 | April 8, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

